Andrea's Weblog
Monday, 5. August 2002
Preface

I chose to do my Multi Genre Project on Alzheimer's Disease (AD) because as sad as this disease can be, it is also very interesting, and mysterious. Dementia in general interests me, but Alzheimer's Disease isn't an illness with an accompanying dementia like in other cases. Alzheimer's is a dementia all its own, with no clear cause or cure. I've worked with patients that have this disease, and I have reason to believe that my grandmother is also suffering from Alzheimer's. She has not been officially diagnosed to my knowledge, but the signs are there. It kills me to see people who have been dumped in nursing homes and left there to die. I feel that with the right education and professional assistance, the patient as well as the family could be more functional in living with AD and communicating with a person with Alzheimer's Disease.

I know a little about working with people who have Alzheimer's, but I know nothing about the challenges these people and their families face on a daily basis. I can only imagine how hard it must be to watch a loved one go through this disease, and how hard it would be to be the primary caregiver of that person. I feel that through speech therapy, I could teach a person with Alzheimer's compensatory strategies that would help him/her be more functional in their communication and every day life. Also, I could educate the family and caregivers about strategies they can use when dealing with this person.

There is no cure for Alzheimer's Disease, but that doesn't mean that once a person is diagnosed with the disease that his/her life is over. Many techniques used with Alzheimer's patients focus on making their quality of life better. It isn't about prolonging their life or stopping the progression of the disease. For me, it's about helping them be as functional and independent as possible at the stage of the disease they're in. Education is also the key. The caregivers and family members may not have any idea how to care for a person with Alzheimer's or communicate with him/her. Improving the quality of life for the patient also means educating those people who are in contact with him/her.

I feel very strongly about helping the elderly population, many of which suffer from this or other types of dementia. This is what brought me to the topic of my Multi Genre Research Project. I wanted to find out what can be done to help people with Alzheimer's Disease live a better life, and be more functional in that life and in their communication. Speech therapy is just one service that can help people suffering from dementia. With the right education, the family and/or caregivers of Alzheimer's patients could know what types of services to seek out to help their loved one/patient with Alzheimer's Disease.

Online for 8000 days
Last modified: 7/9/02, 8:35 PM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
August
Recent updates
Mary Lou's Journal
~March 20, 2002~ Moving day! Dad moved in with us today. Tom...
by CDSenior02 (8/16/02, 4:46 PM)
References Alzheimer's Association Website. (2002).
http://www.alz.org/ ____________________________________________ Alzheimer's Disease Education & Referral Center Website. (2002)....
by CDSenior02 (8/15/02, 11:56 PM)
Reflection When I first read
the syllabus for CD 315 on the first day of...
by CDSenior02 (8/15/02, 11:48 PM)
Welcome! Welcome to my CD
315 Weblog. This is the home of my Multi Genre...
by CDSenior02 (8/15/02, 9:52 PM)
Bye, bye, bye to summer
school! I DID IT!! I made it through 10 weeks...
by CDSenior02 (8/15/02, 6:33 AM)
Preface I chose to
do my Multi Genre Project on Alzheimer's Disease (AD) because as...
by CDSenior02 (8/14/02, 8:10 PM)
TABLE OF CONTENTS *Preface*
*Acknowledgements* *About the Author* *Mary Lou's Journal* *Genre 1: Poem* *Genre...
by CDSenior02 (8/14/02, 6:34 AM)
Power Point . This is
a Power Point presentation given by Meredith Jones. She is...
by CDSenior02 (8/13/02, 9:32 PM)
Guest Editorial This is a
newspaper column about health issues. The guest editor this week...
by CDSenior02 (8/13/02, 7:37 PM)
Reflection (Sort of) When I
first read the syllabus for CD 315 on the first...
by CDSenior02 (8/12/02, 7:22 AM)
Crunch time! Another week has
just flown by! It seems like only yesterday that we...
by CDSenior02 (8/9/02, 6:56 AM)
Interview Genre 3 This is
an interview/ evaluation done with a 67-year-old man named Bill....
by CDSenior02 (8/9/02, 5:07 AM)
Lesson Plans The following are
excerpts from the daily lesson plans of Linda Ross, an...
by CDSenior02 (8/7/02, 12:20 AM)
Getting Older (Draft) This is
a poem by Mabel, a woman starting to progress through...
by CDSenior02 (8/7/02, 12:16 AM)
My Very First Webliography! Welcome
to my first webliography! Since this is the first time...
by CDSenior02 (8/6/02, 11:01 PM)
Getting Older This is a
poem by Bill, a man starting to progress through the...
by CDSenior02 (8/6/02, 9:36 PM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher