Andrea's Weblog
Friday, 12. July 2002
Getting Older

This is a poem by Bill, a man starting to progress through the first stages of Alzheimer's disease. The phrases in caps are supposed to be things people who are developing Alzheimer's may say or think.

I'm getting older.
I'm starting to forget things,
Like where I put my car keys, my daughter's phone number, and the name's of people I don't see often.
IT'S PERFECTLY NORMAL TO BE A LITTLE FORGETFUL ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU ARE OLD.

I'm getting older.
I can't always speak clearly.
I know in my mind what I want to say,
But when it comes out of my mouth it makes no sense to anyone, including me.
My memory is getting worse.
The other day I forgot how to get home from the grocery store, but I eventually found my way so
IT'S NO BIG DEAL.
I'M FINE, REALLY.

I'm getting older.
I didn't tell my daughter about getting lost on the way home because I don't want her to worry about me, she has enough to worry about.
She wants me to come live with her and her family.
She doesn't like me living alone.
I've lived alone for fifteen years now, ever since Martha died. Oh, my dear Martha.
I wouldn't want her to see me like this.
I DON'T WANT ANYONE TO SEE ME LIKE THIS.

I'm getting older.
What's the matter with me?
There are so many things I can't do anymore,
but that's just part of being old, right?
Things start failing and it's all downhill from here.
For some reason, I don't think all this is part of the "NATURAL AGING PROCESS".

I’m getting older.
My friends are getting older as well, but these things aren’t happening to them.
All of their ailments and forgetfulness really is just because they’re getting old.
Their memory problems are different from mine.
They forget where they laid their keys, but I forget what to do with them.
SOMETHING JUST ISN’T RIGHT.

I’m getting older.
I went to the doctor and she said I am exhibiting the beginning signs of Alzheimer’s.
I’ve heard about the way people live when they have Alzheimer’s, and it’s awful.
They are confused, disoriented, forgetful, depressed, and that’s on a good day.
Is this what my future holds? Am I going to be put in a home? What can I do?
I CAN’T BELIEVE THIS IS HAPPENING TO ME!

Online for 8000 days
Last modified: 7/9/02, 8:35 PM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
August
Recent updates
Mary Lou's Journal
~March 20, 2002~ Moving day! Dad moved in with us today. Tom...
by CDSenior02 (8/16/02, 4:46 PM)
References Alzheimer's Association Website. (2002).
http://www.alz.org/ ____________________________________________ Alzheimer's Disease Education & Referral Center Website. (2002)....
by CDSenior02 (8/15/02, 11:56 PM)
Reflection When I first read
the syllabus for CD 315 on the first day of...
by CDSenior02 (8/15/02, 11:48 PM)
Welcome! Welcome to my CD
315 Weblog. This is the home of my Multi Genre...
by CDSenior02 (8/15/02, 9:52 PM)
Bye, bye, bye to summer
school! I DID IT!! I made it through 10 weeks...
by CDSenior02 (8/15/02, 6:33 AM)
Preface I chose to
do my Multi Genre Project on Alzheimer's Disease (AD) because as...
by CDSenior02 (8/14/02, 8:10 PM)
TABLE OF CONTENTS *Preface*
*Acknowledgements* *About the Author* *Mary Lou's Journal* *Genre 1: Poem* *Genre...
by CDSenior02 (8/14/02, 6:34 AM)
Power Point . This is
a Power Point presentation given by Meredith Jones. She is...
by CDSenior02 (8/13/02, 9:32 PM)
Guest Editorial This is a
newspaper column about health issues. The guest editor this week...
by CDSenior02 (8/13/02, 7:37 PM)
Reflection (Sort of) When I
first read the syllabus for CD 315 on the first...
by CDSenior02 (8/12/02, 7:22 AM)
Crunch time! Another week has
just flown by! It seems like only yesterday that we...
by CDSenior02 (8/9/02, 6:56 AM)
Interview Genre 3 This is
an interview/ evaluation done with a 67-year-old man named Bill....
by CDSenior02 (8/9/02, 5:07 AM)
Lesson Plans The following are
excerpts from the daily lesson plans of Linda Ross, an...
by CDSenior02 (8/7/02, 12:20 AM)
Getting Older (Draft) This is
a poem by Mabel, a woman starting to progress through...
by CDSenior02 (8/7/02, 12:16 AM)
My Very First Webliography! Welcome
to my first webliography! Since this is the first time...
by CDSenior02 (8/6/02, 11:01 PM)
Getting Older This is a
poem by Bill, a man starting to progress through the...
by CDSenior02 (8/6/02, 9:36 PM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher