Andrea's Weblog
Tuesday, 13. August 2002
Guest Editorial

This is a newspaper column about health issues. The guest editor this week is Mary Lou, a 45-year-old woman whose father is in the middle stages of Alzheimer's.

Activity Centers Needed for Dementia Patients
By: Mary Lou Who

My family and I just moved here to Littleton from Chicago. There's my husband Tom, our two sons Brad and Bryan, my elderly father Bill, and me. My father is in the middle stages of Alzheimer's disease, and although he is still partially functional, he is also dependent on us in many ways. It is sometimes quite stressful taking care of him, and dealing with his disease. We all pitch in and help, but as would be expected, most of the responsibility rests on my shoulders. I love my father dearly, but there are times that I need to get away or get things done for myself, and this is sometimes next to impossible with him. Just a trip to the grocery store is an ordeal when Bill comes along. Between shopping for a good deal, making sure I get everything on my list, and keeping track of him to make sure he doesn’t wander off, shopping takes two to three hours! In Chicago, there was a place where I could take my father where he could socialize and interact with people who are also in his same situation. It was an elderly center called Heart and Hands Elderly Care Center. People with different types of dementia usually spent a couple hours at a time at this elderly center every couple of days, supervised by professionals and volunteers. They talked, played games, made things, and watched TV, with other people who suffer from dementia. After moving here, I see there is no such place in this area. Maybe since this is a smaller town, there is less need for something like this. In Chicago, the center was always busy and full of people for my dad to socialize with. The Hearts and Hands center was an enormous help to my father and me. Bill loved his visits there and often asked when he would be able to go there again. He enjoyed himself, and I was able to get things done around the house, run errands, go out with my family, or just relax for a while. This isn't a place to just "dump" your elderly loved ones when you get tired of them, but a place of refuge for them. At the center, they don't have a disease or problem, everyone is just like them. The staff is trained to care for people with dementia and the other patients help to make newcomers feel at ease. Bill spends most of his days with me, and he and I don’t have much in common especially when it comes to his disease. When he would go to the Heart and Hands center, he could spend time with people going through the same things as he was. I intend on getting a center established here where my dad and other dementia patients could go. Then they’re family members can have some time for themselves. I feel very strongly about places such as these, and I encourage anyone who has friends or loved ones suffering from dementia to contact me for more information on how to get elderly centers started. I will be talking to local and state government officials to see about starting an elderly care center in Littleton, and any information or help will be greatly appreciated. For more information, please contact me by email at marylouwho@someplace.com, or contact this newspaper for my personal contact information. For more information on Alzheimer’s Disease visit The Alzheimer's Association.

Mary Lou Who

Online for 8001 days
Last modified: 7/9/02, 8:35 PM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
August
Recent updates
Mary Lou's Journal
~March 20, 2002~ Moving day! Dad moved in with us today. Tom...
by CDSenior02 (8/16/02, 4:46 PM)
References Alzheimer's Association Website. (2002).
http://www.alz.org/ ____________________________________________ Alzheimer's Disease Education & Referral Center Website. (2002)....
by CDSenior02 (8/15/02, 11:56 PM)
Reflection When I first read
the syllabus for CD 315 on the first day of...
by CDSenior02 (8/15/02, 11:48 PM)
Welcome! Welcome to my CD
315 Weblog. This is the home of my Multi Genre...
by CDSenior02 (8/15/02, 9:52 PM)
Bye, bye, bye to summer
school! I DID IT!! I made it through 10 weeks...
by CDSenior02 (8/15/02, 6:33 AM)
Preface I chose to
do my Multi Genre Project on Alzheimer's Disease (AD) because as...
by CDSenior02 (8/14/02, 8:10 PM)
TABLE OF CONTENTS *Preface*
*Acknowledgements* *About the Author* *Mary Lou's Journal* *Genre 1: Poem* *Genre...
by CDSenior02 (8/14/02, 6:34 AM)
Power Point . This is
a Power Point presentation given by Meredith Jones. She is...
by CDSenior02 (8/13/02, 9:32 PM)
Guest Editorial This is a
newspaper column about health issues. The guest editor this week...
by CDSenior02 (8/13/02, 7:37 PM)
Reflection (Sort of) When I
first read the syllabus for CD 315 on the first...
by CDSenior02 (8/12/02, 7:22 AM)
Crunch time! Another week has
just flown by! It seems like only yesterday that we...
by CDSenior02 (8/9/02, 6:56 AM)
Interview Genre 3 This is
an interview/ evaluation done with a 67-year-old man named Bill....
by CDSenior02 (8/9/02, 5:07 AM)
Lesson Plans The following are
excerpts from the daily lesson plans of Linda Ross, an...
by CDSenior02 (8/7/02, 12:20 AM)
Getting Older (Draft) This is
a poem by Mabel, a woman starting to progress through...
by CDSenior02 (8/7/02, 12:16 AM)
My Very First Webliography! Welcome
to my first webliography! Since this is the first time...
by CDSenior02 (8/6/02, 11:01 PM)
Getting Older This is a
poem by Bill, a man starting to progress through the...
by CDSenior02 (8/6/02, 9:36 PM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher